Thursday 19 November 2009

Injured AP photograher wins Frontline award

The Frontline Club today announced the winners of its annual awards for excellence in journalism, which will be presented on Friday November 27.
The media club, which champions independent journalism, will give its annual Frontline Club Award to AP photographer Emilio Morenatii who was injured in a bomb blast in Afghanistan.
This year, the Frontline Memorial Tribute award, given occasionally, will be presented to Lasantha Wickramatunga, the former editor of the Sunday Leader in Sri Lanka who was assassinated in January.
The award was given in recognition of Wickramatunga’s commitment to his work and his refusal to bow to pressure despite continuing threats to his life.
The awards recognise exceptional journalistic integrity, courage and the independence of spirit, regardless of nationality or media discipline and include the work of freelances.
The winners were chosen by a panel of judges including the New Yorker's Jon Lee Anderson, Anthony Loyd from the Times, Carlotta Gall from the New York Times, Jeremy Bowen and Allan Little from the BBC and Frontline Club founder Vaughan Smith.
All the funds raised at the awards ceremony go to the Fixers Fund, a charity set up by the Frontline Club to promote responsibility in the news industry for the welfare of fixers and translators.

No comments: