Sunday 3 April 2011

Orwell Prize: Nominated bloggers and journalists

Organisers of the annual Orwell Prize have announced that 22 bloggers, rather than the usual 12, have been longlisted from a record 205 entries by judges David Allen Green, who blogs as Jack of Kent, and Gaby Hinsliff, journalist, blogger and former political editor of The Observer.

The longlisted bloggers are:

Adam Wagner:
UK Human Rights Blog (

Andrew Sparrow: Politics Live with Andrew Sparrow (

Anton Vowl: Enemies of Reason (

Carl Gardner: Head of Legal (; and Comment is Free, The Wardman Wire, Anglotopia.

Cath Elliott: Too Much To Say For Myself (; and Liberal Conspiracy, Comment is Free.

Cathy Newman:
The FactCheck Blog – Channel 4 News (

Crispian Jago:
Science, Reason & Critical Thinking (

Dan Hodges: Labour Uncut (

Daniel Hannan:
Daniel Hannan – Telegraph Blogs (

David Osler:
David Osler ( and Liberal Conspiracy.

Dr Petra: Dr Petra’s Blog (

Duncan McLaren: Visiting Mabel (

Graeme Archer: ConservativeHome (

: Heresy Corner (

Juliet Jacques: A Transgender Journey (

Molly Bennett:
Mid-Wife Crisis (

Osama Diab: The Chronikler ( and Comment is Free, New Statesman, Worldpress.

Paul Mason:
Idle Scrawl – BBC Newsnight (

Paul Waugh: Paul Waugh ( and The Waugh Room (

Penny Red: Laurie Penny – pop culture and radical politics with a feminist twist (

Prisoner Ben: Ben’s Prison Blog (

Sunder Katwala: Next Left ( and Left Foot Forward, The Staggers (New Statesman).

Andrew Sparrow and Paul Mason were both shortlisted for the first Orwell Blog Prize in 2009 (Mason was also cited when Newsnight was presented with a Special Prize in 2007), while David Osler (longlisted last year), Heresiarch (longlisted in 2009) and Penny Red (Laurie Penny, shortlisted last year) make the longlist for a second time. Cathy Newman was longlisted for last year’s Journalism Prize.

Director of the Orwell Prize, Jean Seaton, said: "Blogging is evolving under our eyes, its purposes shifting. Public service watchdog? Clever reporting from new spaces in the political process? Telling it like it is in uncomfortable places? Different blogs are all of those and other things: it’s an increasingly sophisticated world.

This year’s longlist of 15 journalists (rather than the usual 12) for the Journalism Prize has come from a record field of 87 journalists.

The longlisted journalists are: Rory Carroll, The Guardian; The Observer; David Cohen, Evening Standard; Phillip Collins, The Times; David Gardner, Financial Times; Amelia Gentleman, The Guardian; Andrew Gilligan, Sunday Telegraph; Channel 4; The Guardian; The Spectator; Dominic Lawson, The Independent; Catherine Mayer, TIME; Douglas Murray, Standpoint; The Spectator; Literary Review; Wall Street Journal Europe; Gideon Rachman, Financial Times;Jenni Russell, Sunday Times; The Guardian; Rachel Shabi, The Guardian; Jack Shenker, Prospect; Guernica; The Observer; The Guardian; New Statesman; Jonathan Steele, The Guardian; London Review of Books; DeclanWalsh, The Guardian; Granta.

This year’s shortlists will be announced on 26th April, before a debate on the question, ‘Is it time to make monarchy history?’. The winners of the Orwell Prizes – each worth £3000 – will be announced at an awards ceremony at Church House, Westminster, on 18th May.

No comments: